An Entire Novel Without the Letter “e”

Try this experiment. Write a 100 word description of the most interesting person you met yesterday and make sure you don’t use the letter “e” at all.

No it’s not impossible, just very difficult for mere mortals like us.

But for Earnst Wincent Wright, it was  no problem, because he wrote and entire novel without using the letter “e”.

The novel was called “Gadsby” and it was written in 1939.

Considering that the letter “e” is the most commonly used letter in the alphabet, I cannot imagine how Mr Write managed to produce over 50,000 words (267 pages).

Want to find out more about this entire novel without the letter “e”, and also and entire novel without verbs, go to the very interesting blog of Meghna’s called The Writing Pages

4 Responses

  1. […] An Entire Novel Without the Letter “e” Try this experiment. Write a 100 word description of the most interesting person you met yesterday and make sure you don’t use the letter “e” at all. No it’s not impossible, just very difficult for mere mortals like us. … […]

  2. […] An Entire Novel Without the Letter “e” Write a 100 word description of the most interesting person you met yesterday and make sure you don’t use the letter “e” at all. No it’s not impossible, just very difficult for mere mortals like us. But for Earnst Wincent Wright, … […]

  3. It’s not as easy as it looks, but it’s not that difficult either. Herewith 100 words on the shampooist I met yesterday.

    Rica’s skilful hands work sumptuous conditioning silk through my hair. “I’m from Zambia.” Nobody admits to hailing from Zim, it is politically awkward and it’s tiring having to guard against a constant hail of unfitting Bob gags. “I’m a widow, I think it is a possibility that I could adopt an orphan. I am not a mum, I couldn’t grow a child. My husband always said, ‘If I pass away and if at all an opportunity to adopt occurs, grab it with both hands.’ Possibly this is my occasion to grasp luck and furnish a child with a good living.”

  4. I will try. It is difficult, but I think I can do it. It can work if you maintain focus upon trying this. I was not in contact with anybody today, but I saw a man on Sunday. This man sold tobacco for smoking. I bought a pack from him. I had to pay with my card, for I did not bring cash.

Leave a Reply

