Amanda Will Train the First Writers’ Write Course in Durban

We will be hosting the inaugural Writers Write course in Durban, as a one week course, from 25th August – 29th August from 09:00 – 13:00 daily. I will be training this course for this session only.

Please note that we only have a limited number of available spaces on this course. If you would like to book, please advise.

Warm regards

Amanda Patterson

37 graduates published

Writers Write is an Excellent Course For All Writers

The ideal course for any beginner novelist or non-fiction writer is Writers Write. This takes a beginner all the way through the writing process to a polished, publishable way of writing.

We look forward to you joining our community of writers.

Please call if you need help.

I don’t want to just mess with your head. I want to mess with your life.
I want you to miss appointments, burn dinner, skip your homework.
I want you to tell your wife to take that moonlight walk on the beach with the resort tennis pro while you read a few more chapters.”
Stephen King

Do you Want to Write a Book?

The student says

“I attended Amanda Patterson’s course, and it changed my life .It unleashes your creativity and your writing potential. It gave me the confidence I needed to move out of the corporate world, and do what I always wanted to do.”

Morné Malan, and author of Best Debut Novel 2007, Suiderkruis (Tafelberg 2008), judged by Andre Brink, and a winner of the  SA Pen Award, for his short story Jason’s Kiss, judged by Nobel Laureate, JM Coetzee

The publisher says

“Amanda Patterson, together with The Write Co, inspires, encourages and drives her students to produce creative work in a nurturing environment. Students receive encouragement, access to Amanda’s publishing networks and extensive feedback on their work. I’m not sure how she fits it all in but she does manage to give both students and publishers expert attention.”

Terry Morris – MD, Pan Macmillan South Africa

Writers Write – How to Make your Writing as Publishable as Possible

The best course for anyone who wants to write a book, or improve their writing skills, is Writers Write. It will teach you to write the best you can. It’s creative, inspiring and educational. You will be motivated and confident after you have completed the programme.

Special 1-week course (Durban only) 25 – 29 August 2008

Where: TBA

Fees: R 4 500, 00 (ex VAT)

RSVP: Wiida: 011 706-4021 or mail info@thewriteco.co.za

The Writers Write Course Includes lectures and modules on:

1.   Story Ideas & Plotting

2.   Viewpoint & Genre

3.   Setting & Description

4.   Scenes/Beginnings, Middles and Ends

5.   Dialogue

6.   Characters

7.   Pacing/Rewriting & Research

8.   Manuscript Preparation & Advice on Publishing

The course was developed by inspiring published author, Amanda Patterson. Other facilitators include the best-selling writer, Sarah Bullen, playwright, editor & novelist, Morne Malan, teacher and prolific author, Anthony Ehlers.

One Response

  1. Dear Amanda,
    I would love to do your course, and was so excited to see that you would be coming to Durban. Then the disapointment hit me when I read the date. Unfortunately, I cannot attend that week due to personal commitments with our son, and a reunion party I am organising for the 30 August. Please let me know if you are coming at any other time, after 6 September, as I would love to attend. I have only done some journaling, as you can read on the web site (above), and not sure if I have potential, but I do have a real passion for writing and find it most therapeutic when I get going. KIndly put me down to attend when you run another course in Durban. I’ll be there!

    Kind regards,

    Monique Peterson
    0827776630

Leave a Reply

